Mr. Joy & Matthew “Doc” Dunn join forces as Dr. Joy – listen to new song here

‘Signed, The Body Electric’ is the lead single from the band’s forthcoming self-titled debut album.

Toronto cosmic crooner, Matthew “Doc” Dunn and Toronto-based psych outfit, Mr. Joy, join forces as Dr. Joy.

The newly formed collective have announced details of their self-titled debut album, which is set for release on July 30 via Idée Fixe Records.

This morning, the band released the first single from Dr. Joy, Signed, The Body Electric. You can listen below for the first time.

Dunn is no stranger to those immersed in the outer-world of alt-country sounds.

As well as being the leader of The Cosmic Range (who were also the backing band to Meg Remy’s U.S. Girls), Dunn has also released four solo albums, his latest last year’s Rain, Rain, Rain, as well as leading the 20 piece ensemble, Transcendental Rodeo.

Faust announce mega box set including previously unreleased album

Then there’s Mr. Joy (consisting of, Harrison Forman, Steven McPhail, Asher Gould-Murtagh and the visual artist known as Blob) who last year brought us their second album, The Dreamer’s Workbook.

It’s a collaboration that, on paper at least, will push the boundaries of cosmic psychedelia and further warp those ever foggy mirrors.

In the words of the band’s press release this is, “a potent testament to living one’s life in the service of the infinite power of art.”


Dr. Joy - Dr. Joy

Dr. Joy tracklist

  1. Weeping Facade
  2. No Deal
  3. Wide Eyed
  4. The Normals
  5. Pale Satin
  6. Signed, The Body Electric
  7. Midtown
  8. River Story

Dr. Joy is out on July 30 via Idée Fixe Records. Pre-order from here.

By Simon Kirk

Product from the happy generation. Proud purple bin owner surviving on music, books and LFC. New book, Welcome To Charmsville, available from all major vendors.

2 replies on “Mr. Joy & Matthew “Doc” Dunn join forces as Dr. Joy – listen to new song here”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s