Faust announce mega box set including previously unreleased album

The 7 x LP box set features previously unreleased music from the German pioneers.

It’s been a nostalgic week here at Sun 13, first with our EPs Feature, now with some news that is set to whet the appetites of all those crate diggers out there.

Yes, folks, experimental forefathers, Faust, have announced details of a box set which contains the band’s complete collection from 1971 to 1974.

Faust 1971-1974: 50 years of Faust, Ltd. is set for release on October 8 via Bureau B Records. The collection will be available via 7 x LP and 8 x CD formats. The vinyl version of the box set is limited to 2,000 copies, while the CD version is limited to 1,000 copies.

You can listened to the track, Fernlicht, below.

This box set is the first virtually complete collection of the German act’s official studio releases from 1971-1974.

The Greatest Gift: Best EPs Ever Made

In addition to the band’s self-titled debut album, 1972’s So Far, 1973’s The Faust Tapes and Faust IV, the collection contains the mythical LP dubbed the “Munich album”, Punkt, which Faust recorded at Giorgio Moroder‘s Musicland Studios in 1974.

Bonus albums, Momentaufnahme I and Momentaufnahme II also feature unreleased studio material. Alongside these bonus albums are two 7-inch singles.

Lieber Herr Deutschland is the demo recording the band sent to Polydor in 1971, which led to a contract offer from the label. The B-side of the vinyl single, Baby, is a song the label rejected to release after signing the band. The second single is a re-release of So Far, the only official single the band released, from 1972.

Faust 1971 - 1974: 50 Years of Faust. Ltd

Faust 1971-1974: 50 Years of Faust. Ltd trackling:

LP1 Faust

  1. Why Don’t You Eat Carrots?
  2. Meadow Meal
  3. Miss Fortune

LP2 So Far

  1. It’s A Rainy Day Sunshine Girl
  2. On The Way To Abamäe
  3. No Harm
  4. So Far
  5. Mamie Is Blue
  6. I’ve Got My Car And MyTV
  7. Picnic On A Frozen River
  8. Me Lack Space…
  9. …In The Spirit

LP3 The Faust Tapes

  1. Several Hands On Our Piano
  2. Don’t!
  3. Flashback Caruso
  4. Voices And Trumpet And All
  5. J’ai Mal Aux Dents
  6. Beim nächsten Ton ist es…
  7. Two Drums, Bass, Organ
  8. Dr. Schwitters Intro
  9. Several Hands On Our Piano (Continued)
  10. Beam Me Up, Scotty
  11. Elerimomuvid
  12. Dr. Schwitters (Continued)
  13. Have A Good Time, Everybody
  14. Above And Under Our Piano
  15. Hermanns Lament
  16. Donnerwetter
  17. Was ist hier los?
  18. Rudolf der Pianist B5) Ricochets
  19. I’ve Heard That One Before
  20. Watch Your Step
  21. Under Our Piano Again
  22. Fluid Chorus
  23. Stretch Out TimeB
  24. Der Baum
  25. Chère Chambre

LP4 Faust IV

  1. Krautrock
  2. The Sad Skinhead
  3. Jennifer
  4. Just A Second / Picnic On A Frozen River, Deuxième Tableau
  5. Giggy Smile
  6. Läuft… Heisst das, es läuft oder es kommt bald?… Läuft!
  7. It’s A Bit Of A Pain

LP5 Punkt

  1. Morning Land
  2. Crapolino
  3. Knochentanz Fernlicht
  4. Juggernaut
  5. Schön Rund
  6. Prends Ton Temps

LP6 Momentaufnahme I

  1. Naja
  2. Flaflas
  3. Es Ist Wieder Da
  4. Mechanika
  5. Weird Sounds Sound Bizarre
  6. Karotten
  7. RéMaj7
  8. Fin De Face
  9. Vorsatz
  10. Acouphènes
  11. Interlude 18. Juni
  12. Dadalibal
  13. Bonne Soupe Au Fromage
  14. Rückwärts durch die Drehtür

LP7 Momentaufnahme II

  1. Danach
  2. Gegensprechanlage
  3. Lampe an, Tür zu, Leute rein!
  4. Purzelbaum mit Anschubsen
  5. Tête-à-Tête im Schredder
  6. Dampf
  7. Testbildhauer
  8. I am… an Artist
  9. Wir wollen mehr Volumen kriegen
  10. Arrampicarsi Sul Vesuvio
  11. …und alles durcheinander
  12. The Fear Of Missing Out
  13. Ma Trompette
  14. As-tu Vu Mon Ombre?

Single 1

  1. Lieber Herr Deutschland
  2. Baby

Single 2

  1. So Far (Single Version)
  2. It’s A Bit Of A Pain

Pre-order Faust 1971-1974: 50 Years of Faust. Ltd from Bandcamp.

By Simon Kirk

Product from the happy generation. Proud purple bin owner surviving on music, books and LFC. New book, Welcome To Charmsville, available from all major vendors.

6 replies on “Faust announce mega box set including previously unreleased album”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s