Tension Span announce debut album

The band shares two tracks from ‘The Future Died Yesterday’.

Tension Span, the new group featuring Noah Landis (Neurosis, Christ On Parade), Geoff Evans (Asunder), and Matt Parrillo (Dystopia, Kicker) have announced details of their debut album.

Recorded during the isolation of the COVID-19 pandemic, the trio are set to release The Future Died Yesterday, on September 30 via Neurot Recordings.

Recorded by the band and mixed by Landis, The Future Died Yesterday was mastered by Bob Weston and Greg Obis at Chicago Mastering Service. The band have also shared two tracks, the title track and The Crate Song which you can listen to below.

The band comment on The Future Died Yesterday:

“In the eighties and early nineties, young punks gathered in Oakland, California’s abandoned urban spaces, shared punk houses, and small clubs to create community and raise their voices against the injustice and brutality that surrounded them. Complex images drawn on fliers were passed from hand to hand and posted on walls. Songs screamed out behind closed doors were captured on cassettes. The underground was a world of its own, a tightly knit cohort united by the need to transform rage into art, an emotional alchemy that was both earnest and reckless. A visual and sonic language emerged, and thirty years on, it still has the power to speak the truth.”

Tension Span - The Future Died Yesterday

The Future Died Yesterday track listing:

  1. Prologue
  2. Cracked Society
  3. The Future Died Yesterday
  4. The Crate Song
  5. Filaments
  6. Ventilator
  7. Covered In His Blood
  8. Problem People
  9. Trepidation
  10. I Have To Smile
  11. Human Scrapyard
  12. I Can’t Stop This Process
  13. Didn’t See It Coming

The Future Died Yesterday will be released on LP and all digital platforms, with the LP jackets screen-printed; a 3-panel fold-over cover, black and white inks printed on thick chipboard stock.

Pre-order at the label Neurot Recordings webshop and Bandcamp.

By Simon Kirk

Product from the happy generation. Proud purple bin owner surviving on music, books and LFC. New book, Welcome To Charmsville, available from all major vendors.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s