TORRES announces new album and UK tour

Watch/listen to the lead single from Mackenzie Scott’s fifth LP.

Mackenzie Scott, better known to us as TORRES, has announced details of a new album which follows last year’s brilliant Silver Tongue – an album that featured in Sun 13s Top 50 Albums of 2020.

Thirstier is set for release on July 30 and will be TORRES‘ second release for Merge Records – her fifth overall.

Yesterday, TORRES released the first single from Thirstier, Don’t Go Puttin Wishes in My Head, which you can watch/listen to below.

Thirstier was recorded last year at Middle Farm Studios in Devon. Alongside Scott, Rob Ellis (PJ Harvey) and Peter Miles (The King Blues) co-produced the album.

Iceburn announce new album and first in over 20 years

Speaking of Thirstier, TORRES said:

“I wanted to channel my intensity into something that felt positive and constructive, as opposed to being intense in a destructive or eviscerating way. I love the idea that intensity can actually be something life-saving or something joyous.”

In addition to the album announcement, TORRES has revealed a string U.K. tour dates for March 2022 with dates and ticket details also below.

TORRES - Thirstier

Thirstier tracklisting:

  1. Are You Sleepwalking?
  2. Don’t Go Puttin Wishes in My Head
  3. Constant Tomorrowland
  4. Drive Me
  5. Big Leap
  6. Hug From a Dinosaur
  7. Thirstier
  8. Kiss the Corners
  9. Hand in the Air
  10. Keep the Devil Out

TORRES U.K. Tour 2022:

  • Friday, March 11: Mono, Glasgow
  • Saturday, March 12: Brudenell Social Club, Leeds
  • Sunday, March 13: Night & Day, Manchester
  • Monday, March 14: The Exchange, Bristol
  • Tuesday, March 15: Bush Hall, London

Pre-order Thirstier from Bandcamp.
Purchase tickets for UK tour here.

By Simon Kirk

Product from the happy generation. Proud purple bin owner surviving on music, books and LFC. New book, Welcome To Charmsville, available from all major vendors.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s