Oxbow announce new album, ‘Love’s Holiday’

Watch the video for lead single, ‘1000 Hours’

San Franciscan noise agitators, Oxbow, announce details of their first new music in six years.

Love’s Holiday is set for release via Ipecac Records on the July 21, and follows the excellent 2017 long-player, Thin Black Duke.

Today the band also release the video for lead single, 1000 Hours – a song featuring Roger Joseph Manning Jr (Jellyfish, Beck), which you can watch below.

The video for 1000 Hours is directed by John David Levy.

Vocalist, Eugene Robinson, comments: “1000 Hours for the Oxbow completist, 100 percent ties in to our other song 1000, thematically in my mind. But filming the video, given that I just had surgery a few days before felt very much like Mann’s Death in Venice to me. You know where waiting to die never felt more beautiful. Which really feels like the essence of love. Or at least one of them.”

Guitarist, Niko Wenner, adds: “1000 Hours began life with the bright extroverted feel you hear most, but inevitably the darker introspective mood of the coda and intro emerged. Both qualities are essential to Love’s Holiday. Roger (backing vocals), John (video director), and Joe Chiccarelli (co-producer) all did extraordinary work to heighten these emotions.”

Previous Oxbow albums found their impetus in a lyrical framework provided by Robinson, with Wenner applying his musical compositions to the singer’s narratives. But Love’s Holiday began with the music.

“The music was chiefly inspired by and written for my family. We’ve had two children born and my father died while writing and working on this record,” says Wenner. “The songs are just a collection of music that I sang to my babies and then wrote guitar parts for and brought to the band as Oxbow songs.”

Robinson says, “I’ve always been chagrined that no one understood that our songs were love songs.” 

The album also includes an appearance Kristin Hayter (Lingua Ignota) who features on the track, Lovely Murk.”

Oxbow - Love's Holiday

Loves Holiday track listing:

  1. Dead Ahead
  2. Icy White & Crystalline
  3. Lovely Murk
  4. 1000 Hours
  5. All Gone
  6. The Night the Room Started Burning
  7. ” “
  8. Million Dollar Weekend
  9. The Second Talk
  10. Gunwale

Loves Holiday is out July 21 via Ipecac Records. Pre-order here.

By Simon Kirk

Product from the happy generation. Proud purple bin owner surviving on music, books and LFC. New book, Welcome To Charmsville, available from all major vendors.

One reply on “Oxbow announce new album, ‘Love’s Holiday’”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s